Etiquetas

, , , , , ,

To those who want to read this.

I’ve been working for some time in this profession -as a doctor- and I’ve never gone on strike for any of the setbacks we’ve been suffering over the last years. Our salary has been reduced in a 5% and we didn´t protest. Our work schedule was expanded and we didn´t protest. Our salary was reduced once more and we didn´t protest. Now, the management of our hospitals and healthcare centers is to be privatized and now we do protest.

I’m not on strike for any privileges (time off, extra salary…) I’ve never had because I’m “eventual” staff.

I’m not on strike to keep a permanente job I don´t have because in these two years that I’ve been working in different places, the longest contract of employment I’ve had was one part time work for 4 months. The rest of the time I’ve been lucky if I worked the whole month, sometimes 2 weeks or even 4 days in a month..

The reason I’m on strike (in spite of all it entails, I mean, for each day on strike I’m deprived of the money I earn in a day and a half of work; that I’ll be seeing at least 60 patients a day for all the patients I haven´t seen the previous days; that those patients not only don´t understand what I do but reproach me for being on strike, shout at me and, even insult me in a more or less veiled way…) is because as a citizen and as a patient – not only as a doctor- I believe in a public and a high quality Healthcare System which doesn´t see people as numbers or potential money. I think healthcare can be administrated in order to reduce expenditure but without reducing the quality of service. Because my Mom is alive cause we have a public healthcare; because my niece and nephew were born in a public hospital, because if I ever wanted to be a doctor (I’m not sure I did) I always imagined myself working in a public healthcare system. Because all of us have the right to be healthy.

This is why I’m on strike.

Note: I have to thank my friend Isabel for her invaluable help.

— — — — — — — — — —

A quien me quiera leer.

Llevo algunos años en esta profesión –la de médico- y nunca he hecho huelga por ninguno de los reveses que hemos venido sufriendo en los últimos tiempos. Nos rebajaron el sueldo un 5% y no protestamos. Ampliaron nuestra jornada laboral y no protestamos. Nos volvieron a bajar el sueldo y no protestamos. Ahora quieren privatizar la gestión y ahora sí protestamos.

No hago huelga por unos privilegios (días libres, pagas extraordinarias…) que nunca he tenido ya que soy personal “eventual”.

Tampoco hago huelga por mantener un puesto de trabajo que no tengo porque en estos casi dos años que llevo de centro en centro desde que terminé la especialidad, mi contrato más largo ha sido una media jornada de 4 meses. El resto del tiempo he tenido suerte si trabajaba todo el mes, a veces 2 semanas, y a veces 4 días sueltos, literalmente.

Por lo que he decidido hacer huelga (con todo lo que eso implica, es decir, que por cada dia de huelga me quiten aproximadamente lo que cobro en día y medio de trabajo; que los pacientes que no veo en esos días los voy a ver sí o sí en los días siguientes con consultas de, mínimo, 60 pacientes al día; que esos mismo pacientes no sólo no lo entiendan sino que me recriminen lo que hago, que me levanten la voz e incluso algún insulto más o menos velado…) es porque como persona y como paciente – no sólo como médico- creo en una sanidad pública y de calidad, que no vea a las personas como números ni como dinero potencial. Creo que se puede gestionar la sanidad para intentar disminuir el gasto sin disminuir la calidad de la atención. Porque mi madre está viva porque tenemos una sanidad pública; porque a mis sobrinos les trajeron al mundo en un hospital público; porque si alguna vez quise ser médico (cosa que empiezo a dudar) siempre me imaginé trabajando en la sanidad pública. Porque todos tenemos derecho a la salud.

Por eso estoy en huelga.

